Dubble Click
News Blog

All Blacks name team for second rugby Test against Ireland

Scott Barrett will return to lock for the second Test against Ireland after the withdrawal of Sam Whitelock, with Dalton Papalii coming in at No.6.

Barrett performed strongly in the opening Test win at blindiside flanker, but Whitelock’s delayed onset concussion and Tupou Vaa’i’s Covid sends him back into the second row.

David Havili, who missed the first Test with Covid, remains sidelined but Will Jordan is back on the bench.

The back line remains unchanged from game one and there are two uncapped players on the bench in prop Aidan Ross and halfback Folau Fakatava.

Jordan has been named on the bench in place of Braydon Ennor, leaving Jordie Barrett and Leicester Fainga’anuku as options to cover the midfield.

“While I was delighted at how we performed and the leadership shown in the first Test match, we will need to really lift and improve in some key areas,” said coach Ian Foster. “We know the Irish will throw everything at us this week to keep the series alive. 

“We’ve again had challenges this week, but we feel this team has laid a foundation to build on and is desperate to improve against a very determined Irish side.”

Dalton Papalii will wear the number six jersey alongside captain Sam Cane at seven and Ardie Savea at the back of the scrum.

“The backline remains unchanged with a plan to build on existing combinations from the previous week,” Foster said.

While this is the All Blacks eighth Test match at Forsyth Barr Stadium, it will be Ireland’s first Test match at the venue.

The All Blacks have won 40 out of 46 Test matches in Dunedin, with five losses, and one draw.

All Blacks team for second Test (appearances in brackets)

  1. George Bower (12)
  2. Codie Taylor (67)
  3. Ofa Tu’ungafasi (45)
  4. Brodie Retallick (93)
  5. Scott Barrett (49)
  6. Dalton Papalii (13)
  7. Sam Cane (78) captain
  8. Ardie Savea (60)
  9. Aaron Smith (103)
  10. Beauden Barrett (102)
  11. Leicester Fainga’anuku (1)
  12. Quinn Tupaea (8)
  13. Rieko Ioane (48)
  14. Sevu Reece (18)
  15. Jordie Barrett (37)
  16. Samisoni Taukei’aho (10)
  17. Aidan Ross* (0)
  18. Angus Ta’avao (21)
  19. Patrick Tuipulotu (41)
  20. Pita Gus Sowakula (1)
  21. Folau Fakatava* (0)
  22. Richie Mo’unga (33)
  23. Will Jordan (13)

Source link

Comments are closed.